Return to In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams - Tues & Sat 1 PM
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Excellent in every respect January 28, 2019
Reviewer: Sebastian Jaroszewicz from Argentina  
As an enthusiastic photographer and admirer of Ansel Adams  I found that the tour exceeded my expectations. Our guide was Michael Wise, a wonderful person, who not only gave us valuable photographic advice but also conveyed his admiration and knowledge of the work of Ansell Adams. After presenting, he was interested in the knowledge and expectations of each participant so that he could better respond to our interests. And then we made a wonderful tour of the park after the steps of Ansel Adams. In summary a wonderfull experience. Many, many  thanks Michael.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Amazing Experience October 31, 2018
Reviewer: Craig from San Diego, CA  
By far the best use of my time while I was in the Valley. Our (small) "Footsteps" group guide was Michael W
Michael did a superb job of immediately querying the group to assess our individual photographic skills & understand how he could best address our interests. It was a very full 4 hours of traversing the Valley sharpening & honing our photographic technique
Most importantly (for me) was Michael's wonderful flowing narrative about Ansel Adams that filled the moments when we weren't taking pictures. The discussion was truly a "live & interactive" biographical production of Ansel's life- Michael shared knowledge from many sources including that gleaned from his interactions with Ansel's assistants. The depth of granularity & color was astounding providing me with a new appreciation of Ansel's love for the Valley
Be sure to ask questions to entice Michael to go off on tangents! It was the unattenuated flow of information from these "pivots" that made the day truly memorable

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great insights on the Adams trail October 2, 2018
Reviewer: David Shank from Indianapolis, IN United States  
Perhaps it was fate but I was fortunate to be the only person with my wonderful guide. The walk is condensed but you see many of Mr. Adams' favorite subjects and you begin to understand that not all meaningful images have to be taken in the back country.  My guide knew and understood the Adams aesthetic and since I'm an experienced image creator we didn't have to waste time on mechanics. She showed how a slight shift in position could make a boring picture into a dynamic image. It was a great experience. Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams September 10, 2018
Reviewer: Larry Daniel from Lewisville, NC United States  
Brittany was great!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Just what I was hoping for July 23, 2018
Reviewer: Chris Maher from Media, PA United States  
I wasn't sure what to expect but the Ansel Adams class was just what I hoped it would be. Four hours of learning about Adams while walking around the valley seeing spots where specific shots were taken. The guide, Michael, was very knowledgeable and excited about the subject matter. This won't teach you how to use your camera but it will inspire you about photography.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
What an experience! March 27, 2018
Reviewer: Rick from Livermore, CA United States  
My wife and I took Mike Revees' class on a beautiful snowy Saturday afternoon! He was very detailed, patient in answering all our questions. He covered everything that we needed to know and understand on what makes a good photo and how to take them! He walked us through the secrets of Ansel's photography skills that we did not learn anywhere else! Thank you, Mike!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
A fantastic learning experience with a human touch November 19, 2017
Reviewer: Jean-Claude Monney from Austin, TX USA  
I started with black and white photography developing on my Durst 300 in 1969. and moved to digital in 1997.
Michael, our photographer guide, is a wealth of knowledge on Ansel Adams photos and how to translate his photo approach to today's digital camera. We went to several spots, learned about Adams's life and composition and light technics. It was a fantastic experience.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Wonderful! July 1, 2017
Reviewer: Sarah from West Point , UT United States  
Christine was great! She had great knowledge of Ansel Adams and the park. I got the most wonderful pictures with her assistance! I highly recommend this experience!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
decent April 10, 2017
Reviewer: Dawn Brown from Whittier, CA United States  
Christine was very knowledgeable, but a bit more time in spots to actually setup and breakdown equipment and take photos would've been nice. I felt hurried most of the time.
Maybe I read the descriptions wrong, but I don't feel that there was a whole lot of tips/help given towards improving our landscape or exposure techniques.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
In the Footsteps of Ansel Adams... and more! April 10, 2017
Reviewer: Sylvia Lottes from San Dimas, CA United States  
Our photographer for the half-day class was Christine and she did an amazing job with her knowledge of Yosemite Valley, Ansel Adams and the history of both.  I would say I'm an intermediate photographer and know my camera settings.  My husband is new to digital photography and has a new mirrorless camera.  Christine showed us places that we would not have found on our own plus she keep our session at the right pace for both of us.  The session was well worth it especially since we were in the area for only a few days.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items